recipes

WhatsApp: Trick to send photos and videos that can only be seen once

Written by hana

Send a whatsapp message

Send a WhatsApp message – Source: spm

What is this new functionality of WhatsApp?

It is a feature provided by the instant messaging application for you to be able to send confidential content and its content will be deleted as soon as it is displayed. Messages in this option are protected with end-to-end encryption, which prevents even WhatsApp from accessing them.

With this new option, people will not only use less space on each mobile device, but it will also provide users with a higher level of privacy.

How do I send a photo or video that can only be viewed once?

Enter a WhatsApp chat and perform the following steps:

  • Select the photo or video that you want to share, and if you have activated the function, next to the “Send” button, the number “1” will appear in the text part.
  • When the recipient receives the message and opens it, they will only be able to view it once.
  • When viewing the media file, the message will be marked as “open”.
  • It should be noted that if the person to whom the message was sent does not open the photo or video within 14 days after it was sent, the file will disappear from the conversation.

Is this functionality also available on WhatsApp Web?

This functionality is currently only available on mobile devices, however, it is expected that it will also be used on WhatsApp Web.

Open WhatsApp

Open WhatsApp – Source: spm

What you need to know about this new WhatsApp feature

If you disable playback options, the recipient will still be able to see if you opened all the photos or videos, but you can’t tell when the recipient opened the photo.

If you share such an image in a group, you will be able to see when other participants open expired images, even if you have disabled the launch options. It should be noted that the recipient may be able to save the photo or video using the screenshot or screen recording features, but WhatsApp will not be able to notify you as it has no screenshot detection.

Contacts blocked from shared groups can still open these photos and videos.

If you send this image to someone who has not enabled this feature, the feature will remain active.

Always keep in mind that you should only use this feature for messages addressed to contacts that you trust. Because the security mechanism can be bypassed by taking a screenshot on the mobile phone or taking a picture with another smartphone. To address this, WhatsApp is currently looking into blocking screenshots in the future.

About the author

hana

Leave a Comment